Kempton named a finalist for Kyle Macy National Freshman of the Year award

Photo by Justin Lafleur/Courtesy of Lehigh Athletics
Photo by Justin Lafleur/Courtesy of Lehigh Athletics

Courtesy of

BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Following a standout freshman season, Lehigh men’s basketball standout Tim Kempton has been named a finalist for the Kyle Macy National Freshman of the Year award, as announced late Monday. The 26 finalists also comprise the 2013-14 Kyle Macy Freshman All-America team. The Patriot League Rookie of the Year, Kempton is in elite company with players like Jabari Parker (Duke), Julius Randle (Kentucky), Andrew Wiggins (Kansas) and more. Kempton averaged 13.0 points per game (second on the team) and a team-leading 7.1 rebounds in his rookie campaign in the brown and white.

The finalists for the award include Deandre Bembry (Saint Joseph’s), Myles Davis (Xavier), James Daniel (Howard), Rodney Elliott (UMBC), Joel Embiid (Kansas), Tyler Ennis (Syracuse), Shannon Evans (Buffalo), Kahlil Felder (Oakland), Aaron Gordon (Arizona), Khallid Hart  (Marist), Vincent Hunter (UTEP), Rysheed Jordan (St. John’s), Tim Kempton (Lehigh), E.C. Matthews (Rhode Island), Jordan Mickey (LSU), Jabari Parker (Duke), London Perrantes (Virginia), Cameron Payne (Murray State), Bobby Portis (Arkansas), Julius Randle (Kentucky), Jonathan Starks (Tulane), Sindarius Thornwell (South Carolina), Noah Vonleh (Indiana), Paul Watson (Fresno), Andrew Wiggins (Kansas) and Marquis Wright (Siena).

Kempton became Lehigh’s fourth Rookie of the Year in the last eight years. The Scottsdale, Arizona native reached double-figure points 25 times in 32 games including six double-doubles. In November, Kempton scored 20 points on 7-of-10 shooting at Pittsburgh of the ACC. He scored a career-high 25 points to go with 13 rebounds at Colgate in his first-ever Patriot League game. Kempton also reached 20 points against eventual SWAC Champion and NCAA Tournament team Texas Southern while scoring 20 late in the season at Lafayette.

Kempton was Patriot League Rookie of the Week five times in 2013-14 including three straight weeks in late January through early February. He shot 51.5 percent from the field for the season (159-of-309). Kempton finished ninth in the league in scoring and third in rebounding.

The Kyle Macy award is presented annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball. The 1975 Indiana “Mr. Basketball” played his freshman season at Purdue University. Macy averaged 13.8 points a game as a freshman, while leading the Boilermakers in free throws, shooting .859 percent from the line on the season. He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky’s 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.

The winner of the 2014 Macy award will be announced at the Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.

The Mountain Hawks ended their season 14-18 highlighted by a big win at regular season champion Boston University. Lehigh also owned win streaks of five and four games, respectively, defeating Texas Southern who made the NCAA Tournament, Boston University who made the NIT and Quinnipiac who made the Tournament.

Like Lehigh Men’s Basketball on Facebook and follow on Twitter for exclusive content, team updates and more.


DeAndre Bembry             6-6          Saint Joseph’s

Myles Davis        6-2          Xavier

James Daniel      5-11       Howard

Rodney Elliott    6-0          UMBC

Joel Embiid         7-0          Kansas

Tyler Ennis          6-2          Syracuse

Shannon Evans 6-1          Buffalo

Kahlil Felder       5-9          Oakland

Aaron Gordon   6-9          Arizona

Khallid Hart         6-2          Marist

Vince Hunter     6-8          UTEP

Rysheed Jordan                6-4          St. John’s

Tim Kempton     6-10       Lehigh

E.C. Matthews  6-5          Rhode Island

Jordan Mickey   6-8          LSU

Jabari Parker      6-8          Duke

London Perrantes            6-2          Virginia

Cameron Payne                6-2          Murray State

Bobby Portis      6-10       Arkansas

Julius Randle      6-9          Kentucky

Sindarius Thornwell        6-5          South Carolina

Noah Vonleh     6-10       Indiana

Paul Watson       6-7          Fresno State

Andrew Wiggins               6-8          Kansas

Marquis Wright 6-0          Siena

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.