Jones Earns Haggerty Award; Armand Named All-Met First Team

Photo by H. Smith-USA TODAY Sports
Photo by H. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Courtesy of

WHITE PLAINS, NY – Iona College men’s basketball senior Lamont Jones and junior Sean Armand were honored by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association for their performances in the 2012-13 campaign. Both performers were named All-Met First Team while Jones was named the 80th Haggerty Award Winner as the most outstanding Division I men’s basketball player in the New York Metropolitan Area.


Jones is the sixth Iona basketball player to earn the Haggerty Award which is presented by the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) and the Met Basketball Writers Association (MBWA). First presented in 1936, it is one of the oldest awards in college basketball and most prestigious honor given to a metropolitan area player.


Scott Machado earned the award last year marking the second time the Iona College men’s basketball program earned back-to-back Haggerty Awards following Jeff Ruland and Gary Springer in 1979 and 1980. Steve Burtt in 1984, Springer in 1980 and Ruland in 1979 joined Iona’s first Haggerty winner, Warren Isaac from 1965.


The sixth Haggerty Award for the Iona program matches the fourth most in the award’s history. St. John’s has had 24 Haggerty winners, Seton Hall has nine, Hofstra and LIU Brooklyn have seven while NYU has garnered six. The Gaels surpass Columbia and Fordham’s five awards.


Jones led the Gaels and the MAAC and finished No. 3 in the NCAA in scoring, averaging 22.6 points per game. He finished 10th in the nation in free throw percentage converting at an 88.8% clip. His 221 free throws made was one shy of the national lead held by Louisville’s Russ Smith, who played six more games than Jones this season. Jones was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Player of the Year and Associated Press All-American Honorable Mention. He recently finished action at the 2013 Portsmouth Invitational Tournament.


Armand was one of the more prolific long distance shooters in the country, draining an Iona-record 112 three-point field goals. He was one of 14 performers in NCAA Division I to record at least 100 trifectas this season and ranked No. 8 with 3.29 per game. His 16.6 points per game ranked No. 2 on the Gaels and fourth in the MAAC and 5.1 rebounds per game was third on the team. Armand was named Second Team All-MAAC following the regular season.


Together, Jones and Armand were the No. 2 scoring tandem in the nation. Following a National Invitation Tournament semifinal run by Brigham Young, the Cougars’ Tyler Haws and Brandon Davies edged the Iona pair by .1 ppg.


It is the second straight season that Iona had a pair of All-Met First Teamers following Machado and Mike Glover in 2012.


The duo helped the program to its fourth straight 20+ win season, only the second time in school history the event has occurred. Iona also earned an automatic bid into the 2013 NCAA Championship its second straight and 10th overall appearance in the “Big Dance”.




NEW YORK – The 2012-13 All Met Division I men’s college basketball teams announced Monday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.


FIRST TEAM: Lamont Jones, Iona, 6-0, SR, G, Harlem, NY; Jamal Olasewere, LIU Brooklyn, 6-7, SR, F, Silver Spring, MD; Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall, 6-6, JR, F/G, Paterson, NJ; D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s, 6-3, SO, G, Missouri City, TX; Jason Brickman, LIU Brooklyn, 6-0, JR, G, San Antonio, TX; Sean Armand, Iona, 6-4, JR, G, Brooklyn, NY.


SECOND TEAM: Tommy Brenton, Stony Brook, 6-5, SR, F, Columbia, MD; Rhamel Brown, Manhattan, 6-7, JR, F/C, Brooklyn, NY; JaKarr Sampson, St. John’s, 6-8, FR, F, Akron, OH; Myles Mack, Rutgers, 5-9, SO, G, Paterson, NJ; Ella Ellis, Army, 6-7, SR, F, Houston, TX.


THIRD TEAM: Chris Flores, NJIT, 6-2, SR, G, Dorchester, MA; Chris Obekpa, St. John’s, 6-9, FR, C, Makurdi, Nigeria; Jonathon Williams, Wagner, 6-6, SR, F, Richmond, CA; CJ Garner, LIU Brooklyn, 5-10, SR, G, Silver Spring, MD; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook, 6-8, FR, F, Plainfield, NJ; Phil Greene IV, St. John’s, 6-2, SO, G, Chicago, IL


Player of the Year: Lamont Jones, Iona

Rookie of the Year: JaKarr Sampson, St. John’s

Coach of the Year: Steve Pikiell, Stony Brook


• Senior Lamont Jones was named to the All-Met First Team after earning Second Team honors as a junior.

• Junior Sean Armand was also named All-Met First Team. It was the second straight season the Gaels had two players on the top team after Machado and Mike Glover were selected the previous season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.