Xavier’s Semaj Christon Named To 2013 Kyle Macy Freshman All-America Team

Courtesy of GoXavier.com

CINCINNATI — Xavier University freshman guard Semaj Christon has been named to the 2013 Kyle Macy Freshman All-America Team, which was announced on Monday as part of the CollegeInsider.com award program. The top freshman will be announced and will receive his award on April 5 in Atlanta, the site of the 2013 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four.


Christon, Xavier’s first-ever Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year selection, was recently named to the NABC (National Association of Basketball Coaches) District 4 Second Team. Christon was also named to the 2012-13 A-10 Second Team and the A-10 All-Rookie Team by the Atlantic 10 coaches. He led XU in scoring (eighth overall and first among A-10 freshmen at 15.2 ppg.) and scored in double figures in 19 straight games to end the season.


Christon was the first Xavier freshman to average double figures in scoring and the first XU freshman to lead the team in scoring since Stanley Burrell scored a team-high 12.7 ppg. in the 2004-05 season. Christon led XU in assists (fifth overall and was second among A-10 freshmen at 4.6 apg.) and steals (10th overall in A-10 at 1.5 spg.). Christon is the first Xavier freshman to lead the team in assists since Dedrick Finn at 4.3 apg. in the 2002-03 season. He finished second on XU’s all-time freshman scoring list with 456 points. His 139 assists left him tied with Finn for the most assists ever by an XU freshman.


The 21-member Freshman All-America Team announced today includes Kyle Anderson (UCLA), Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova), Anthony Bennett (UNLV), Sim Bhullar (New Mexico State), John Brown (High Point), Omar Calhoun (Connecticut), Jahii Carson (Arizona State), Semaj Christon (Xavier), Damyean Dotson (Oregon), Olivier Hanlan (Boston College), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Danuel House (Houston), R.J. Hunter (Georgia State), Ben McLemore (Kansas), Shabazz Muhammad (UCLA), Nerlens Noel (Kentucky), Marcus Paige (North Carolina), Glenn Robinson III (Michigan), JaKarr Sampson (St. John’s), Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State) and D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera (Georgetown).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.